A day in the life of a recruiter – Molly Fielding

Molly Fielding is a contract catering consultant at Evolve Hospitality Recruitment, and has been shortlisted for Best Newcomer of the Year at the 2017 IRP Awards. We asked Molly what a typical day is like for her – and how she feels about being recognised at the biggest awards in recruitment.

Molly Fielding DITL

My alarm goes off at…

5am! Early bird catches the worm! I like to get in the office early and hit the ground running.

I’m responsible for…

Several corporate contracts within contract catering, and a range of temporary candidates too.

I got the job…

By word of mouth recommendation! A friend recommended Evolve to me for some temporary work, and after that, the rest is history. I went from a temporary candidate to a resourcer, and now I’m a consultant and loving it. I never thought applying for a temporary role would get me this far.

My typical day…

I like to get in the office before 7am and start off with a few early check ins. I deal with loads of temps and client requests, and then I’m on call for the rest of the day! Being on call 24/7 is hectic but it’s definitely worth it when the contract is delivered well.

The worst part of my job..

Last minute staff drop outs! It’s already crazy busy in the run up to Christmas, but drop outs affect all areas of the business. It’s a shame, but I always follow up and ask why, and what I can do to help.

The best part of my job…

Building relationships with client and candidates. I love meeting new people and making friends, so that’s my favourite part of my role.

I love recruitment because…

It’s so diverse and I meet so many different people from around the world. I work with different people everyday and it’s amazing to meet so many individuals from different backgrounds and cultures. I’ve built lifelong friends at Evolve, from different areas of the business.

My biggest candidate success story…

I once lost a candidate to a competitor, which was heart-breaking because we’d built up a great relationship. However soon enough, the candidate was back at Evolve because they just loved the culture so much. They’re still here to this day!

After work…

I play netball and hit the gym. I like to keep fit and healthy!

When I heard I was shortlisted for the IRP Awards I felt…

Overwhelmed and completely shocked! I never expected to be shortlisted, but after I did I was so excited, I’m still buzzing now!

I’d recommend entering the IRP Awards because…

It’s a great motivator as well as recognition! Not only being recognised for something so brilliant, but being able to work towards it as a huge benchmark in my career was great.

I’m excited for the IRP Awards night because…

I work hard, to play hard!

My Plan B:

Currently, this is my plan A, B and C!

Do you like the sound of Molly’s day? Find out more about a career in recruitment.

Make sure you follow everything to do with the IRP Awards on Twitter to find out who takes home the awards on 6 December.

If you’re a recruiter keen to tell us about your day, please email us.

Remember to share this blog on your social channels! You can follow us on Twitter and Instagram, and like us on Facebook.

Leave a comment